So, today, I lost it for the very first time in class – albeit one of my smallest classes of only girls.  I teach a fashion design class (a euphemism for sewing).  But seriously, I came into this job with the desire to teach teens about more than just sewing.  I’ve had them make design sketches as well as sew some projects.  My advanced or level 2 fashion design class consists of all 8th graders.  One of these classes is in the morning and it consists of five great kids (1 boy, too) who have surprised me with how quickly they took to sewing on the machine.  The only other class of level 2’s is the very last period and this class consists of all girls.  As a teacher, I take into account kids backgrounds as I get to know them.  I can say that this particular period is unique because the girls are all of the ‘popular’ variety.  With the exception of one of them, they all live in neighborhoods where the houses are estates.  They dress in expensive fashion.  They are beautiful and they know it.  They are privileged teens, plain and simple.

Today started the unit I am calling “Green Fashion”, where the students will be watching the documentary “The True Cost”.  This movie is a documentary about unfair wage practices that have occurred globally due to the growing fast fashion industry.  So, today I started off with an introduction that included a slide show that I worked really hard on. I also passed out handouts announcing a fashion swap for Friday.  The early period was on board. I was unsure how the last period girls would feel.  They are a fickle bunch, mostly because they are young teens – some not even 14 yet.  These girls mostly spend their time talking about all things boys; music; hair and much gossip.  Today was no exception.  One of the girls was braiding another girls long blond tendrils.  Amidst their chatter, I passed out the Fashion Swap handout and began to explain how it was all going to work as I referred to key points on the paper.  Half of them were talking to each other and like I normally do when teens don’t listen, I said, “Hey, guys, pay attention.  This is important information.” They did for about a second and resumed their discussions with one another.  I tried a second time, “Are you paying attention to what I just said, ladies?”  I got some half-hearted yesses.  Then they all (with the exception of the student nearest me) kept chatting completely oblivious to me.  So I continued roting off and added nonsense like “So, I am here talking to myself and no one is listening because this is definitely not important. I really like talking to myself, etc.” They were clueless. And just like that my temper flared. In a much louder tone, I exclaimed, “You know what? You all are rude.  Really rude.  Seriously.  You haven’t heard a lick of what I have been saying and you are wasting my time.  Do you even care?”  I told them I was definitely angry and that they had ‘pissed me off’ – boy do I feel bad that I said that after I saw their bug-eyed looks.  I could have kicked myself.  I lectured them for about a minute regarding how this is an easy class and how I don’t ask much from them.  I ranted about all I ask in return is that they listen when I talk.  I don’t ask for much.  I turned around only long enough to see the cheerleader (in her uniform) roll her eyes and mouth the words “Oh-my-God” in a gimme-a-break sort of way. I looked right at her and said, “Yes, I am mad. I’m really angry.”  One of the girls earlier had defiantly announced to me that she was not going participate in the swap no-way-no-how. She said she would rather take a zero.  When I pressed her earlier about why, she simply said “because, I don’t have anything to give away and I don’t want to give away something to someone else.”  I gave her some ideas, like maybe she could bring a pair of shorts that are her brother’s or sister’s.  No. She said would take a zero.  Well, after I told Miss Priss that I was really mad, I turned to Prima Donna and told her that “You will participate in the swap.”

The hush that came over that room at that moment was somewhat rewarding to me. I felt good, I admit.  These girls had taken enough advantage of me, and they were going to listen.  With the exception of the ‘pissed off’ comment I blurted out, I felt justified. I am dreading the phone call from that parent telling me off, I’ll be honest. I’ll take the heat. I made a mistake there.  So, they listened after that. and I presented my introduction slide show and they listened attentively and asked questions.

I know what got to me: their privilege.  I know it isn’t their fault.  They haven’t a clue.  I also know that social justice is also a very near and dear issue that I am passionate about. I am also a post-modern feminist.  This week’s topics focus on the women and mothers that get paid dollars a day to work and sew our fashion.  I’ll be honest, there is a part of me that wants to burst their rainbow bubble of ease and comfort.  I want to open their eyes.  The truth is, most may not care, but if even one young lady feels a tiny bit of compassion, I know I did my part.

Leave a comment