‘Older’ in the teaching profession; some thoughts

I received my Bachelors of Science in Psychology this past May.  It was a culmination of sorts – just having come through as a breast cancer survivor.  Two of my sons graduated also: one from college with a degree in Physics and a minor in Business; and the other son graduated from high school.  There was much celebrating in our home.  I spent 2014 in bed; my body weak from chemotherapy.  I went right into surgery by October for my mastectomy and then right into radiation therapy by December.

I had made plans to go to graduate school, having already applied and waiting for my acceptance.  Right after graduation, something didn’t feel right.  I didn’t have peace inside about graduate school.  I though long and hard about this and decided I should go back to work and I gave myself a timeline for August.  I had one more surgery to go through (reconstructive) surgery, so I figured this would give me enough recovery time.

This is how I fell upon teaching – or teaching found me?  I had not really considered it other than childhood confessions of ‘one day’ being a teacher.  It happened over a conversation I had with my aunt who attended my son’s college graduation.  I knew she was a principal for many years.  She shared how teaching was a higher calling and how it was hard work, but one she does not regret.  She was a teacher for many years also prior to being a principal.  I have much admiration for her.  She is retired now after 40 plus years in education – wow!  That was when the seed was planted.

So, I looked at an alternative certification program and enrolled over the summer, convinced after listening to some personal testimonies from people who were like me: older students who got their degrees and now were successful teachers.  I finished my program by late July – all online.  I took my content examination in Family and Consumer Sciences and passed.  I applied to my local school district.  After an interview and a few weeks of nervous anticipation since the school year was right around the corner, I got a phone call that changed my life.  I was actually the alternate choice and the job was offered to a more experienced teacher – which I knew would be my only caveat, since I had no experience.  I originally left the interview feeling confident.  That teacher accepted the position and then backed out.  So, I was called the day before teacher inservice – which is a week-long preparation prior to school starting.  I missed the new teacher orientation, so I simply attended the regular inservice.  I have been running ever since.

To say that I am swimming without a paddle is an understatement.  But I knew this before accepting the position.  I knew I was coming in at a disadvantage.  I was a ‘newby’ for one; I have never taught in the public school arena.  I have over 20 years of work experience as an administrative secretary.  I have organized meetings, events and stood in front of people.  I have conducted meetings and training.  I have been an office manager for a primary care physician.  I have dealt with hiring and firing.  But nothing prepared me for teaching.  I am swimming one handed right now and doing my best to stay afloat.

I love teens.  I always have.  I am a much better parent to my five children as teens than I was when they were children.  I knew it when I was raising them.  I simply have a God-given affinity for the hormonal years for some reason.  I don’t understand it, so I just ‘go’ with it.  Our home also attracts teens.  So, I am now teaching 7th and 8th graders.  They keep me going right now.  But they also have given me moments of challenges.

It is much like parenting: it is the best job you will ever love – you’ll just be so exhausted.  I am older – well into my 40’s.  I am coming into this profession with much wisdom from having been ‘around the block’ and raising 5 kids.  I have lots of work experience.  I’m simply a novice at teaching.  It has tested my resolve and I have learned much.  Here are some things from the first few weeks so far:

  1. There is a frequency level for this age group that is different from elementary and high school.  Boys’ voices are beginning to deepen, but some boys still sound like girls.  Girls giggle and yell.  Boys do too.  I am going to lose my hearing soon.
  2. Boys are active.  But I knew this since I have four.  Now it is just multiplied exponentially.  Boys horse around and make weapons and balls from anything.  Paper just might as well be called “paper: aka ball, spitwad, airplane, basketball”.
  3. Teachers call out on teachers like they do the kids.  It’s in their makeup.  I don’t take this personally.  They are always in reactive mode.  “Don’t do this.” “Hey, you need to do this and not this.” “Stop!”
  4. Teachers are in a hurry. Time is precious before and after school.  The copy room and hallway may be areas to congregate, but that is a luxury.  It’s best to keep moving. There is simply too much to do to get ready for the day.
  5. If a teacher walks by and doesn’t smile and say ‘hi’ to you, it’s simply because they are on a mission.
  6. The best feeling in the world is when a kid calls out your name for the first time.  “Hey, Mrs. Newcomb!”  or “Mrs. Newcomb! (frantic waving)” Melts my heart every time.
  7. Know how to ask questions because you need to figure things out on your own.  Everyone simply has their plate full and it’s called SCHOOL.
  8. Your best helpers are your students.  Get them to carry stuff and pass out stuff for you.  Have them deliver and pick up things from across the school, too.  They love to help!  Every time I have asked “who would like to volunteer to…” at least 5 hands shoot up immediately with more to follow.  They wave frantically “mememe!”
  9. Some of this kids are talented.  There was a girl drawing these amazing caricatures that were Disney quality.  She did them all free-hand. I complimented her.
  10. Girls may be into boys at this age, but not all boys are into girls.  Lots of the 7th grade boys sit around in the morning cafeteria area and play games on their phones.  There was a big group the other day playing on a gaming site all together.
  11. The students LOVE it when you attempt to learn a dance they know.  They just want to see how silly you look, but they really, really want you to learn what they know.  I am learning the “Watch Me” dance currently.
  12. Drawing and colored pencils are your friends. Enough said.
  13. Music is your friend, too.
  14. Employ classroom management tools like attention getters (cowbells, squeak toys, etc.) or you will blow your voice out.  I have come home hoarse on more than one occasion.  An veteran teacher suggested this to me and it has been a LIFESAVER. Plus the students love my squeak toy stuffed animal.
  15. Ask parents for things like tissues, ziplocks, and candy.
  16. I have to bring my A-game every day, or the students will trample all over me.  Classroom management is one of the biggest topics in teaching and rightly so.  Preparation is essential.
  17. I have learned to buy things like colored paper, and desk essentials because state budgets can be tight.
  18. Most of all, my backbone has gotten even stiffer.  I was a general sometimes with my kiddos. But now, I am even more resolute in my orders, but laced with lots of love, too.

My head hurts by the end of the day lately, but it’s because of the incredibly steep learning curve I am on and the fire hydrant of information coming my way.

God Bless Teachers.  I simply had no clue until now.